Introduction into the blogosphere

October 17, 2008

For my introduction into the blogosphere, it makes sense to tell you a little bit about who I am. I’m a third generation company leader of Pacific Seafood and serve as president and CEO. My grandfather started the company in 1941 as a small, fresh seafood retail counter operation in Portland, Oregon. My father, Dominic, still works at our seafood shop on SE Powell.

Though I didn’t always know I would one day become a part of it, I grew up in this business and it is a huge part of who I am. And thanks to a strong management team who is committed to our company mission of operational excellence, Pacific Seafood has grown to include processing West Coast seafood from Alaska to Mexico. It’s really about the people – our customers, vendors and team members – who make us who we are and keep us moving forward. You’ll learn more about that in future blog posts.

I like the outdoors. I love the Pacific Northwest and have always called it home. There is a spirit here and I have made it a point to get involved in this great community. I am on the University of Portland Board of Regents and involved with the Oregon Restaurant Association. I am also active in the seafood industry including National Fisheries Institute and their Better Seafood Bureau.

One of my personal drives – and a core mission of Pacific Seafood’s- is sustainability, and we have been rolling out a number of initiatives to improve our carbon footprint – from major recycle programs to processing our waste into organic fertilizer to reducing trucks on the road. We are very committed to the responsible use of environmental resources to ensure a safe sustainable seafood supply for generations to enjoy. This is an important topic that I look forward to sharing more on in future posts.

Leave a Reply

